el templo de debod

--

--

--

--

Unfortunately, as you may be able to tell from the above photos and/or title of this post, I didn’t make it to El Escorial on Saturday.  In fact, I stayed in bed nearly alll day (again) besides the 30 minutes I took to run to the farmacia and pick up some bread, chicken broth, and vegetables.  My sore throat had grown much worse over night, and if you know me well enough… you know that’s nothing to be surprised about.  Before I get in to the point of this post, however, I would like to point out the positive aspects of social health care as experienced by a poor college student:  the prescription that is currently healing me cost less than two euro (less than $3) for 40 pills.  Please excuse the interruption.

Fortunately, I did manage to make it out of the house for a few hours Saturday night to what is becoming one of my favorite spots in Madrid, El Templo de Debod.  El Templo, located between El Parque de Oeste and Plaza de Espana, was one of the four ancient temples gifted by Egypt to the countries that helped save them during the construction of a dam that threated their existance in 1968.  The other three are in New York City, Italy, and Holland.  (Disclosure: I knew none of this historical background until I read about it on Wikipedia.es before writing this post).

Anywaaay, el Templo is extremely popular at sunset, which makes me slightly more content with the fact that it was the highlight of my Saturday night, haha.  But really, it is beautiful and is definitely a must see for anyone visiting [me] in Madrid.  It is so beautiful that I also spent my Sunday afternoon there, having a picnic and relaxing with friends before the week began.

Hopefully, I’ll make it to El Escorial for a few hours the weekend after this coming one, as early Friday morning I leave for Oktoberfest in Munich, Germany!

Ciao,amores:)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “el templo de debod

  1. Pingback: el fin de semana como una turista | la rubia in madrid

Leave a Reply

