semana cervantina

One of Dan’s roommates goes to a university outside of Madrid in Alcala de Henares and had seen this huge festival being set up last week, so we decided to spend the day there on Sunday!

Alcala de Henares is a small city outside of the city of Madrid but still within Madrid, the autonomous community (think New York City & New York the state).  It also happens to be where Cervantes, the author of Don Quijote, is from!  Each year they have a week long festival around the anniversary of his birthday to celebrate with homemade crafts, music, drinks, and delicious food.  As usual, we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into, but it was a great day with new friends!

I headed back to Madrid around 11pm exhausted, with a stomach full of magical forest fruit sangria, the most authentic Turkish falafel kebab I’ve ever had, a tasting of Dan’s giant baked stuffed potato, and a sampling of artesian meats and cheeses.  And my hands were filled with a delicious goat’s milk cheese we just had to have for our next picnic, and a handmade leather cross-body bag… oh how Spanish!

        

I’m really glad I’ve been able to get to see so much of the Spanish culture since I’ve been in Madrid.  For our professor at Northeastern, we have to submit a two page monthly report each month until co-op starts.  Ours are due on the 15th of each month.  Even though it’s kind of a hassle to sit down and write about what I’m doing with my life here in Spain, I do enjoy it in someways.  It gives me a chance once a month to return to my original goals and plans for this year abroad.  One of the biggest things I wanted to do was to explore as many parts of Spain as I could, which is why I thought I’d share this with you now.  The different communities of Spain are so vastly different; I’m so happy I’m getting a chance to experience them all.  If you’ve been reading you know I’ve already been to Madrid (of course), Toledo, Salamanca, and Alcala de Henares.  I also have trips planned or in the works for Barcelona, San Sebastian, and Sevilla before the end of the semester.

Hope all is well at home and thanks for reading!  Hasta luego, amores:)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

