galletas americanas en españa

 

{Milk & cookies}

Though I haven’t posted much about it since I’ve been in Spain, I absolutely love to bake.  Cookies, cupcakes, muffins, scones, anything!!  It’s always so fun and relaxing, but there has been a serious baking void in my life since baking for Jackie’s birthday brunch.  Thankfully, that void has been filled.  If you follow my twitter, you may have seen my tweet Sunday night… I finally attempted baking our beloved Chocolate Chip Cookies with all of the equivalent Spanish ingredients.

{Spanish ingredients}

I would just like to start off by saying that it is a serious struggle to find baking ingredients at the grocery store.  Flour is with the pasta, sugar is near the bottled water and boxed wine (yes, there is a boxed wine section in every grocery store), baking chocolate is with the candy, and eggs are on the shelf (which I have finally gotten used to).  Spanairds have apparently not caught on to the “baking section” of the grocery store idea yet.

{Spanish vanilla on a mountain of flour}

Once home I started the search for a Spanish equivalent recipe, since I had all of the Spanish equivalent ingredients.  Some of the differences include:

  • Powdered vanilla extract, which is only half vanilla.  The other half is sugar.
  • Brown sugar the consistency of Sugar in the Raw
  • Spanish butter.  It’s hard to tell the difference, but it’s not as hard as American butter and melts much quicker – creating flat cookies if you aren’t careful!

Anyway, I first stumbled upon a German recipe… the author’s story is very touching, and I really suggest reading it (by clicking above on “German recipe”).  However, the Spanish ingredients are also different from the suggested German ingredients in that recipe, so I unfortunately couldn’t use it.  I ended up using a recipe suggested to me by Jackie which she found on Spanish Yahoo! Answers.

In the end they were absolutely delicious, and I certainly suggest the following recipe to be used through out Spain by anyone craving their beloved homemade American Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Buen provecho, amores:)

American Chocolate Chip Cookies, adapted from Yahoo! en Español Respuestas

Ingredients
250 grams butter.
¾ cup white sugar.
¾ cup brown sugar.
2 eggs.
2 small spoons vanilla.
2 ¼ cups flour, but I add an extra quarter cup so they’re soft, like my mom & Aunt Betty Ann taught me.
1 small spoon baking soda (español = bicarbonato).
½ small spoon salt.
2 cups chopped walnuts if you choose, which I did.
1 baking chocolate bar chopped into “chunks.”

Instructions

  1. In a mixer (or with an immersion blender as I did) cream the butter and two types of sugars, then add the eggs one by one.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients (except chocolate chips & walnuts) and beat until mixed and fully incorporated.
  3. Stir in the chocolate chips and nuts with a wooden spoon.  If you have a friend, invite them over because this part is very tiring.
  4. If you feel so inclined, refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes to 3 hours.  I was to eager to try the cookies to wait anytime longer, and they came out delicious as always.
  5. Drop the dough in large spoonfuls onto a baking sheet because they will grow in the oven.
  6. Bake at 170 °C for 7 to 10 minutes if you like them extra chewy like me, or 10 to 15 minutes if you like them crispy.
Leave a comment

Filed under Recetas

Leave a Reply

