la hora española

I’ve been meaning to write about “Spanish time” for a while but haven’t gotten around to it yet.  Fortunately for all of you, Gabby has already given her readers a wonderful snapshot of what exactly “Spanish time” is, which you can find below:

The Spanish Way…

I’m not sure if everyone is aware, but Spanish time is unreal. The days do start early, but around 2 every afternoon, everyone takes a 3 to 4 hour break to nap (siesta), leisurely have lunch or do whatever. Most stores close, the banks shut down for the day and the streets become slightly deserted. 

Things pick back up again around 5 – stores reopen, people emerge after their naps and continue on with their day. Dinner is never any earlier than 9 and even that is pushing it. 10 to 10:30 is prime time. Meals are pretty long because no one is in any sort of rush because there is still, “so much,” time left in the day. 

If you are planning to go out to a bar or a club, you can often times get free entrance before 1:30, but you and your friends will be the only people there. Clubs and bars don’t hit their prime time until at least 3, and again, even that is a little early! 

My mom called me Saturday around 5 PM (Spain time) and asked me how my morning was and how my day was going. Yes mom, I was a little embarrassed to tell you this but I responded by saying that I didn’t really have a morning because I had gotten home at 8 in the morning and woken up around 2 in the afternoon. I explained the concept of Spanish time to her and she is the inspiration for this post. I figure if she doesn’t know, that most likely means that a lot of other people don’t realize it either!

I told my roommate, Ana what time I got home and her immediate response was, “Welcome to Madrid. I never sleep here.” 

Soooo, let’s see how long I can keep this up. 

Thanks, Gab, for your insight into the struggle we’ve been having since we arrived in Spain!  Hope that clarifies the concept for all of you.  I’m heading to Barcelona tomorrow night, so expect a post Sunday or Monday full of photos and Kate Tarabelli’s birthday celebrations!!

Buen fin de semana, amores:)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

