feliz cumpleaños, dan!

Dan’s birthday is so close to Christmas (it’s December 23!) that it usually gets celebrated the week before or nearly forgotten in all of the holiday travel mayhem.  Last year we made the most of it by staying in to have a great homemade dinner, cake, and presents in Boston, and I hope he had just as much fun celebrating this year with our families and friends!

{Mom in front of the carousel and christmas markets; Plaza Mayor}

We took my favorite walking tour of Madrid, starting at the Templo de Debod & Parque del Oeste, seeing the Christmas lights in Gran Vía, Puerta del Sol, & Plaza Mayor, and having a snack of jamón and queso at Mercado de San Miguel with our families before having dinner at the oldest restaurant in the world, Casa Botín.  The atmosphere was great inside and the food was excellent, as well, though I think there may be too much hype over the place.  Of course, we enjoyed ourselves, but I would have to say I’ve had better meals in Madrid, and though I’m glad I went once, I don’t plan on going back.

That wonderful time with our family was followed by homemade chocolate cake with white chocolate frosting (by me!)  and presents at our friend Kenny’s apartment.  It was great to hang out with everyone for the night before we all went our separate ways for Christmas.  Dan and I had flights early the next morning to Prague, so we decided against going to the club in efforts to call it an early night.  Another post coming soon about spending the Christmas holidays in Prague, which I started on just four hours of sleep… so much for going to bed early!

¡Feliz cumpleaños, amor!  Espero que te hayas disfrutado:)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “feliz cumpleaños, dan!

  1. Dianne Brown

    Colette, Tell me why we didn’t take a carousel ride! Next time! Loved seeing you in your new digs and city! xoxo

Leave a Reply

