celebraciones para mi cumpleaños

I’m here to finish the story of my birthday weekend.  I know, I left you guys hanging by saying there was more to come, and then never updating you, but the thing is, with 30+ hours of class this week, I just couldn’t quite find the time!  Anyway, back to the birthday!

Friday night after being in Segovia for the afternoon, I had plenty of time to relax, eat dinner and get ready before heading over to Kathryn’s house.  A few friends came over, and we sat around drinking champagne and playing my favorite drinking game. We then went to a really fun club called Coco right near Puerta del Sol for the rest of the night.  A few other friends met us there, and it was a really fun time.  Dan, Gabby and I even got Churros at San Gines when we left the club, and they were so amazing.  I don’t think I even looked up from the churros & chocolate until I had finished all of mine!

Saturday afternoon, I had an amazingly delicious brunch at VIPS with Gabby, Lauren and Kathryn.  We were all so hungry (despite the late night churros), and I was so happy that we were all awake and awake enough to make it over to VIPS together.  I relaxed for the rest of the day, watching movies and lazing around at Dan’s.

Kathryn and I made a delicious Earl Grey birthday cake (click for recipe) before I headed back to Dan’s for absolutely delicious fish francaise, homemade rice pilaf, and my favorite broccoli.  The rice pilaf was so easy to make – and who knew that classic rice pilaf flavor came from buttery-toasted spaghetti?

Kathryn and Gabby came over for champagne at midnight when I officially turned 22, but I actually popped the bottle 1 minute early, hehe.  Some other friends came over, and we just hung out and talked until it was too late for us to leave to go out.  It was a really relaxing night though and was perfect, especially after the long night we had the night before.

Sunday afternoon Dan took me out for a surprise birthday lunch to a great sushi place right around the corner from both of us.  We haven’t had sushi since we got to Spain, and I have been craving it so much lately.  We got a few different rolls and another crazy concoction of salmon filled with avocado and cream cheese and then tempura fried (read: absolutely amazing!).

Everyone came over for a little party afterwards to enjoy all sorts of cakes and sweets.  We had the Earl Grey birthday cake, cupcakes with Nutella buttercream (made by my roommate, Bea), bizcocho (made by my roommate, Eva), banana bread (made by Kathryn), and an assortment of different cake slices from Corte Ingles (thanks to Gabby and Lauren).  The birthday cake was sweet with just a touch of Early Grey flavor in every bite.  I think next time I would follow the Earl Grey method but use on of my favorite vanilla cake recipes instead though.  The bizcocho was definitely my favorite though; I’ll have to get the recipe from Eva!

    

All in all, it was an absolutely perfect birthday weekend.  There was a great balance between crazy and relaxing times, perfect for celebrating my birthday and taking advantage of the break between final exams and the new semester.  I’m so happy I got to spend time with all of my friends here for my birthday, and I even skyped with my parents and a few friends back in the US too. Thank you all so much for everything!  It was absolutely fabulous to spend my birthday weekend with you, and I hope you enjoyed it just as much as I did.  Gracias, amores:)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recetas

Leave a Reply

