cena casera

       

Last night, Dan and I enjoyed the delicious homemade dinner that we wished we had had time for on Valentine’s Day.  It was so fun to cook a great meal together; back in Boston this was at the very least, a weekly occurrence.  Cooking is something that we both really enjoy, so it has always been fun for us to try out new recipes together.

Last night was no exception!  We tackled a recipe I’ve been dying to try for a while and one of my favorite foods.  We started off with cocktail shrimp and an arugula spinach salad with oranges & a citrus vinaigrette.  The inspiration came from this recipe, which I definitely plan on making this summer.  That was followed by the star of the show, Baked Lobster Mac and Cheese.  I chose this recipe because it’s Ina Garten’s recipe from the Barefoot Contessa, just adapted for two people instead of six.  Even after cutting the recipe size significantly it was still a ton of food, but leftovers are always welcome on Sundays here in Spain (since NO grocery stores are open).  Of course, we had to have dessert, so we finished with Strawberry Shortcake.  I made the shortcake using this recipe and tossed the heart-shaped strawberries in balsamic vinegar to give it an added flavor.  I know what you’re thinking, no chocolate?  But between the Valentine’s Day packages from Rina and my mom and the Cadbury chocolate that Mikey brought us back from London, I’m all chocolate-ed out… if you can believe that!

We spent the night drinking white wine, watching another Woody Allen movie and enjoying this delicious meal.  I guess I can stop celebrating Valentine’s Day now, but I’m still planning on making heart-shaped sugar cookies this week thanks to some of the American Valentine’s things Rina sent me:)

Hope you all had a great weekend!  We’re off for a run to work off the pounds of macaroni and cheese we ate for dinner!  Ciao, amores:)

P.S. Dan putting the lobster in the boiling water!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Recetas

One response to “cena casera

  1. http://bestnaturalhealthsupplements.com

    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were extremely helpful extremely helpful.

Leave a Reply

