visitantes en madrid

{view of the main dance floor of kapital from a few floors up}

Hello readers!  I’m so sorry for the sabbatical I’ve taken for nearly the entire month of March from blogging! It seems I have hardly had time to do anything, but with my 15 page analysis of the Peruvian economy during the 1990s out of the way, I have a clear mind to start writing again… at least before I start studying for my exams next week!

The week in between my trip to Lyon to visit Lauriane and my trip with Dan to Paris was Northeastern’s Spring Break.  A bunch of my friends had visitors, so it was nice to get out in the city and show them around a little bit.  I haven’t had visitors in a while and have been busy with school, so I haven’t had too much time to explore Madrid as of lately.

That weekend we had our first botellón (read: outdoor pre-game) of the year, though it was a little too cold for me, and then headed to Kapital.  Kapital is the famous seven story club in Madrid just steps from el Parque de Buen Retiro, Museo del Prado, etc.  It was really fun, but my feet were killing me after walking up and down the stairs in pumps all night.  Even though its mostly for tourists it was still a great time since I haven’t been since we were in Madrid for the weekend while living in Sevilla two summers ago.  It was just how I remembered it, and I’m so happy that our friends that were visiting got to see the craziness of Kapital as well!

On Sunday, Dan and I tried our best to make hamantaschen, traditional cookies for the Jewish holiday of Purim, but with no success at all.  We were praising ourselves for forming them so perfectly, but after just ten minutes in the oven they had turned into flattened, messy pancake-versions of themselves.  I wasn’t too discouraged though, since one of my favorite food bloggers at smitten kitchen has been having the same issue for years!  Fortunately, they were still absolutely delicious, especially with the jams from la Vieja Fabrica in Sevilla, which I’ve had a love affair with ever since my first breakfast at Rosa & Carlo’s house two years ago.

         

But, back to the visitors… we enjoyed these hamantaschen pancake cookies that night after a meal of the most delicious Vodka sauce I’ve ever had in my entire life!  Gabby’s dad was also visiting us for the weekend, so when she asked him to make her vodka sauce for dinner, he offered to make it for the rest of us as well!  It was absolutely amazing, and I can’t wait to get my hands on that recipe with fresh parsley and shallots thrown into the mix.  Thanks so much, Tony!

Other than that, I spent most of the rest of my time doing homework, while the visitors frolicked around Madrid, but I did make it over to El Tigre again for some delicious tapas with a few friends the night before leaving for Paris!  I love having visitors, but it was nice that none of these ones were staying with me.  Sometimes I feel overwhelmed having to do something fun every hour of the day, but it certainly makes it worthwhile for the tourists!  Hope everything is great at home and that you’re all enjoying the nice weather!  Ciao, amores:)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “visitantes en madrid

  1. Dianne Brown

    Hey – why didn’t you take us to Kapital ? 🙂

  2. Pingback: el fin de semana | la rubia in madrid

Leave a Reply

